About the National History Bee

The National History Bee is a buzzer-based history quiz competition for individual students throughout the USA. More information about the National History Bee, including participation in the 2020-2021 academic year, can be found at nationalhistorybee.com.

Visit Website
National History Bee


All times listed are Eastern Standard Time. All students play in four of the six preliminary matches.

Thursday 12/03 6:00pm – 8:00pm Rounds 1-2
Saturday 12/05 11:30am – 1:30pm Rounds 3-4
Saturday 12/05 1:30pm – 3:30 pm Rounds 5-6
Sunday 12/06 4:30pm – 8:30pm Playoffs

2020 Final Results

8th Grade Champion – Bradford Kimball, Buckingham Browne and Nichols School, Cambridge, MA

7th Grade Champion – Arin Parsa, Team History Scholars, San Jose, California

6th Grade Champion – Shounak Bhindwale, Harvest Park MS, Pleasanton, CA

Elementary Division Champion – Matthew Yang, Centennial Lane Elementary School, Ellicott City, MD


Download the PDF below for a complete set of the rules for the Elementary and Middle School National History Bee.

Prelim Rules
Playoff Rules

Playoff Qualification

All students will play in 4 of the 6 preliminary matches (assigned by IAC). There will be up to 4 rounds of playoffs, depending on field size. IAC is unable to accommodate requests for scheduling specific preliminary rounds.

Last Year’s Champions

  • 8th Grade: Vaibhav Rangan, Joaquin Miller Middle School, San Jose, CA

  • 7th Grade: Daniel Figueroa, Ransom Everglades School, Miami, FL

  • 6th Grade: Arin Parsa, Challenger Almaden, San Jose, CA

  • Elementary:┬áMarc Lindemann, Laddie A. Decker Sound Beach School, Miller Place, NY

More Results